Macadamia and Dark Chocolate Cookies

dsc_3711
Macadamia and dark chocolate cookies

I like my cookies chewy and doughy. I used to work at a bookshop that was right in front of a cookie stall. The lady working at the cookie stall was very nice to me. She would sneak in a few extra cookies for me if I made it to her at the end of the day, before they closed. When I stopped working at the bookshop, my regular cookie supply also stopped.

Baking my first batch of cookies, I remember smelling the cookie dough for the first time. Even now, my favourite part of baking cookies is smelling the dough while I’m mixing it. I bet someone has made a cookie dough scented candle as I’m sure I’m not the only one who has this sentiment. If not, there’s an idea for a new candle scent!

 

dsc_3691
Mixing cookie dough in my KitchenAid
dsc_3706
Macadamia and dark chocolate cookies

Finding a fail-proof cookie recipe meant I had a few less than perfect batches. Some of the batches seemed to melt in the oven (maybe too much butter or the oven was too high, not sure) and the others I had over cooked. My friend called my over-cooked cookies ‘Naana kata style’, which as Maldivians would know, is a buttery but hard biscuit. It was not a compliment.

I was inspired to use almond meal for this recipe because I remember having this wonderfully nutty and chewy cookie someone at work had baked. You can easily substitute the almond meal with flour if needed. I don’t really love nuts, but the macadamias have the perfect creamy and soft flavour that goes well with the dark chocolate.This recipe is a one-bowl, easy mix. And I love using my KitchenAid for it. In fact, the first thing I baked in my KitchenAid are cookies.

Ingredients:

  • 170g butter, melted and cooled
  • 220g brown sugar
  • 110g caster sugar
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 200g plain flour
  • 150g almond meal
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 150g dark chocolate, chopped
  • 50g macadamia nuts

Method:

  • Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees (160 degrees in fan forced oven).
  • Beat butter, sugar and vanilla extract until combined properly.
  • Add eggs and beat until light and creamy.
  • Stir in flour, salt and baking powder and then stir in chocolate and macadamia nuts.
  • Make 1 tablespoon sized cookie doughs. Place balls on baking trays lined with baking paper, about 5 cm apart.
  • Bake for 7-9 minutes. Cool on trays for 10 minutes and then transfer to wire rack to cool completely. You can store these in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

dsc_3719

2 thoughts on “Macadamia and Dark Chocolate Cookies

Leave a Reply

