Market Vibes

dsc_2988

Even if the temperature is not quite summer, nothing announces the arrival of Melbourne summer to me more than the Queen Victoria Night Markets. As usual, we got there early to sip on a cold drink as we browsed the food stalls and direct people as to where we got our drinks. 

dsc_2936

My favourite was definitely the paella at El Rincon. There was a long queue, which is always a good sign. Standing in line was quite entertaining; I had lots of time to take photos of the huge paella pans and watch them being cooked. It was clear everyone was having a good time. The chefs were singing and dancing as they stirred, chopped and mixed.

As I went up to order my All-Seafood Paella, I was momentarily transported to Spain (my version of Spain, I’ve never been to Spain). All the Spanish I had learnt by watching a couple of Spanish TV shows popped into my head, and the conversation with the girl taking the order, should have gone a bit like this:

Me: Hola! One All-Seafood Paella Por favor
Girl: Si, anything else?  (In a Spanish-accent)
Me: Nada. Gracias!

It was just too busy for this skit to actually take place, so this didn’t really happen.

dsc_2957

dsc_2955

The Paella was absolutely delicious! I shared half with a friend as I wanted to eat other food, but I could’ve easily eaten the whole thing!

As much as I wanted to try new food, I had to go again to WonderBao for their new bao burgers. I had a mushroom burger with a tasty salad and sauce. I absolutely loved the soft, steamed bun. And washed it all down with some cool lemonade.

dsc_2965

dsc_2970

We had to check out the Takis Balls for dessert. We got a half-and-half of Nutella and salted caramel. We had fun sharing one whole plate between the 5 of us. I couldn’t bite these in half, so had to pop the balls whole into my mouth. Nothing graceful about this, but oh so delicious!

dsc_2984

dsc_2983

I usually only get to the Queen Victoria Night Markets just once a year, but there are so many new food delights to be discovered and a second visit will be well worth it. The markets are not only about the food and shopping, but also happy vibes.

 

2 thoughts on “Market Vibes

Leave a Reply

