Gutsy Granola : perfect homemade goodness

dsc_2924

Eating breakfast was one of the hardest things to do when I was younger. A struggle bigger than waking up early to go to school. Swallowing down food at 7am was near impossible and I would sit at the table for ages, trying to get through one piece of toast. My parents can tell you stories about how I used to keep food in my mouth without chewing or swallowing. One of mum’s friends once said she lost her appetite just by watching me eat. And this was not even at breakfast time.

My eating habits have changed now, thank goodness! From being an extremely slow eater, I can now keep up with the general population. And breakfasts are no longer a meal I dread, but something I frequently plan, sometimes even before I go to bed the night before.

Step one was actually eating something for breakfast. Next was eating a healthy breakfast, which has been a challenge especially when I’m rushing out the door to go to work. It was all too easy to grab a slice of bread with Nutella or finish a bowl of Milo cereal, but I knew I wasn’t making good breakfast choices. I certainly don’t skimp on the butter or sugar when I’m baking treats, but other times I like to try and make healthy food choices.

dsc_2907

When my friend Fathun first got me a bottle of this granola, at first, I could not believe she had made it at home! I mean, she is a chef and all, but it was just so tasty! The best part of this granola was that I knew exactly what was going into it and I could modify it as I pleased. For my own version, I’ve tweaked the recipe she gave me just a bit.

This recipe gives you a lot of granola! I had three trays going and now have a big container full of toasty granola. It smells wonderful and not only is it great for brekky, but makes for a tasty afternoon snack, sprinkled over yoghurt and fruit. And it certainly is a summer-friendly way to eat oats. I’ve been making porridge in the morning a lot, but as the weather has started getting warmer, eating the granola with milk or yoghurt helps to keep cool.

Ingredients:
– 400g oats
– 200g almonds
– 150g pumpkin seeds
– 150g sunflower seeds
– 4tsp cinnamon powder
– 1/2cup maple syrup
– 3/4cup vegetable oil
– 1cup flour
– 1tsp vanilla extract
– 200g sultanas
– dried fruits (apricot, peach, mango, cranberry,etc)
– chia seeds, cacao nibs, coconut flakes, etc to serve

Method:
– Pre-heat oven to 160 degrees (140 degrees in fan-forced).
– Mix oats, almonds and seeds together in a big bowl. Then add cinnamon powder and mix well. Add oil, vanilla and maple syrup and mix till combined. Then add the flour and mix. Basically mix, mix, mix!
– Line flat trays with baking paper and spread the mixture thinly on the trays. I needed two big trays and one small one to fit all of it.
– Leave in for 10-15 minutes, stirring it with a wooden spoon every now and then. Keep it in the oven for a further 15 minutes or until golden. Keep a close eye on the mixture to make sure it doesn’t burn and keep on giving an occasional stir.
– Remove from oven and then cool. When the mixture is completely cool, add the dried fruits and mix well. And voila, you’ve got your homemade granola!

The granola has been well received, both from my friends and my husband. I’ve had so much, I’ve been sharing it around a bit. With the holiday season coming up, a jar of this would be the perfect gift to say thank you to someone. So two thumbs up for the granola! Happy eating!

dsc_2930

4 thoughts on “Gutsy Granola : perfect homemade goodness

Leave a Reply

