Local Market snaps

DSC_2187

I have always wanted to go to the Male’ local Market to take some photos. Placed on one of the most traffic jammed but picturesque roads in the tiny capital, the fresh fruit and veg market is bustling during the day. I did feel a bit weird at the thought of holding my camera and walking around the local market. However, people were mostly indifferent to me and carried on with their business.

DSC_2206

One stall owner called out to me and asked me to take a photo of his rooting pineapple top. He seemed very proud of his pineapple top. He said he had brought the pineapples from overseas (Sri Lanka maybe?) and he managed to root the tops. He had even sold two of the tops.

DSC_2195

DSC_2183

DSC_2182

DSC_2181

DSC_2180

DSC_2189

DSC_2207

DSC_2200

DSC_2186

DSC_2193

DSC_2211

DSC_2220

DSC_2208

DSC_2197

It was a lot of looking and chasing moments. I had the idea I wanted to take photos of transactions taking place or people inspecting the fruits. But more than once I found, if I was too slow, I lost the moment and the customer would have moved away. And then there were the struggles of taking a photo, checking it and the lighting not being right. By the time I adjusted the settings, the person would be gone. This made it challenging but very enjoyable as well.

DSC_2178

This is one of my favourite photos. I only realised the perfect timing when I checked the photo when I got home.

I loved the variety, the colours and the energy in the market. Seeing all the different fruits and vegetables, I wanted to buy everything and cook it all. I could have easily spent an hour so just browsing around. Each aisle and alley had new characters and bargains. I didn’t have a lot of time on the day, and do regret seeing most of it just though the lens of my camera. I’m sure if I had hung around to talk to the stall owners, I might have heard more stories like the pineapple tops.

DSC_2223

DSC_2218

DSC_2217

DSC_2213

DSC_2210

Leave a Reply

