Other books by L. M. Montgomery

Anne of Green Gables still continue to make the top 10/100/50 books on lists everywhere. When I fell in love with Montgomery’s writing, it wasn’t Anne I discovered first. She’s written many other charming stories on Prince Edward Island and elsewhere that are equally vivid and endearing.

rainbow valleyRainbow Valley

I read this book before I knew of Anne of Green Gables. This did make the first chapter a bit confusing, as this is the seventh book of the series. But on the advice of my Aunt who had also read the book, I persevered on and found the book positively enchanting. Based on the interaction between the Blythe and the Meredith children, it was easy to fall in love with the different characters. The wild scrapes the children got into were comical and the heart of the story is warming. Even thinking about this book makes me want to read it all over again.

 

new moonEmily Trilogy

Emily of New Moon was the first book that brought tears to my eyes. I was sniffling as I read the first half when Emily’s father dies and she has to go and live at New Moon Farm. The Emily series made me fall in love with Montgomery’s writing and Prince Edward Island. I actually read Emily’s Quest first (the third book) and then read the first and the second book. These are lovely books showing young women coming to their own and following their dreams. It has great male characters that show real determination and ambition. Sometimes they do silly things, but who doesn’t? The characters, from Mr. Carpenter to Aunt Ruth and Cousin Jimmy, are unforgettable. The series has the perfect amount of nature, romance, scandal and fashion (Emily loves her silk petticoats) in it. Books in this series: – Emily of New Moon. – Emily Climbs. – Emily’s Quest.

 

blue castleThe Blue Castle

This is one of Montgomery’ adult fiction work and is such an unexpected and humorous little novel. It is set in the 1920s and I loved it from the beginning to the end. Valancy is 29 and unmarried. Her family appears to be a very miserable bunch and sucked the happiness and positivity out of everything. Following some very startling news, Valancy decides that she needed to stop worrying about what her mother and family thought and go out on her own. She moves out of her mother’s house, gets involved with some unlikely people and changes the course of her whole life. This book is not set in Prince Edward Island, but Montgomery still portrays the nature and the landscape beautifully and made me want to visit to this fictional little town.

Leave a comment